England T20 World Cup 2022 Squad, Team, Players List

The craze of the T20 World Cup 2022 will commence in the month of October on the Australian surfaces which are known for the bounce and pace attack. The England cricket management has already declared their lineup of 15 players who will participate in the upcoming World championship. The English men are categorized under the Super 12 Group A along with Australia, New Zealand, and Afghanistan. Under the captaincy of Jos Buttler, team England will enter the biggest event in the cricketing world.

The management has taken some tuff decisions by excluding Jason Roy because of his bad form in the shortest format of the game. Being one of the most favorites team of winning the World Cup, England will miss their two top-class batters, one is Jason Roy and the other is Jonny Bairstow. Jonny Bairstow was not included in the T20 World Cup 2022 because of his injury which he received at the time of playing golf. The replacement and filling of the position of Jonny Bairstow were not easy for England’s selectors but they took a hard move by selecting Alex Hales in place of Bairstow.

England Team Squad for T20 World Cup 2022

  1. Jos Buttler (c)
  2. Moeen Ali
  3. Harry Brook
  4. Sam Curran
  5. Chris Jordan
  6. Liam Livingstone
  7. Dawid Malan
  8. Adil Rashid
  9. Phil Salt
  10. Ben Stokes
  11. Reece Topley
  12. David Willey
  13. Chris Woakes
  14. Mark Wood
  15. Alex Hales

In the year of 2010, England won the World Cup in the shortest format of the game and that was the debut ICC championship for the nation. Kevin Petersen did a fabulous job with the bat in the 2010 season of the T20 World Cup and won the award for the Player of the tournament.

England performed well in the 2016 season of the T20 World Cup and reached the final where they met West Indies. In the final of the 2016 World Cup, England had the upper hand in the last over since West Indies needed 24 runs in the last over but all the hopes of England’s fans were broken by the three consecutive sixes struck by Braithwaite in the last over of Ben Stokes. Thus, West Indies defeated the English team in the 2016 season and England became runners-up.

The selectors also added Chris Woakes and Mark Wood in order to provide extra strength to the pace attack. On the other hand, Moeen Ali and Adil Rashid have the capability to spin the ball and will serve as a spin attack for England. Phil Salt, Will Jacks, and Harry Brook along with Alex Hales will make the batting lineup stronger. The team will surely miss the Bairstow but they have also got experienced and match-winning players like Ben Stokes, David Malan, Jos Buttler, and Moeen Ali.

Last year in 2021, England reached the Semi Final where they were defeated by New Zealand, so it would be interesting to watch how England will perform on the Australian surface and how far will go in the T20 World Cup of 2022.

AustraliaSri LankaIndia
South AfricaNew ZealandEngland
PakistanBangladeshWest Indies
T20 World Cup All Team Squads