KEA Home Website & CET Online Exam Details

The acronym KEA stands for Karnataka Examinations Authority and was founded in 1994. Headed by the Honorable Minister of Higher Education, the main objective of establishing this was to admit students specifically from Karnataka after having been ranked in the Common Entrance Tests.

FULL Form of KEA: Karnataka Examinations Authority

KEA Website
KEA Home
KEA Helpline Number080 – 23460460
KEA RecruitmentClick Here

The CET or the Common Entrance Test is conducted by the KEA under the leadership of the Ministry of Education in the Government of Karnataka. Students from other states get admission through Management quota seats. They admit students into first-year undergraduate courses in 

  1. Engineering
  2. Medical
  3. Technology
  4. Architecture
  5. Farm Science B.Sc. (Agriculture)
  6. B Sc in Agriculture
  7. Bachelor of Fisheries Science 
  8. B. Sc. In Agri BioTech
  9. Bsc (Horticulture)
  10. B. Sc (Forestry)
  11. B. Tech (Dairy Tech)
  12. Bachelor of Technology (Food Technology)
  13. Dental
  14. B-Pharmacy

These courses are in Government / University / Private unaided and private aided professional educational institutes of Karnataka. More than a million students take this exam every year. After some time, Common Entrance Test Cell was named as Karnataka Examinations Authority under Societies Registration Act 1960. 

Karnataka CET Exam

In the KCET Exam, only students from Karnataka state are allowed while the students from other states can appear for the COMEDK Exam which provides admission in various private Engineering, Medical, and Dental colleges. For the course of Architecture, the candidate must pass the test of NATA taken by the National Aptitude Test in Architecture.

The exam is held in four sessions over two days. On the first day, Biology and Mathematics papers are conducted. On the second day, Physics and Chemistry papers are held. On another date, the Kannada language test is held for Horanadu and Gadinadu Kannadiga candidates.

Courses Offered

KEA exams are one of the most popular and reputed entrance exams and students from all over the country attempt the Medical and Engineering exams which are usually held in May. 

The courses offered through the CET exam are:

  1. BE/B.Tech
  2. Bachelor of Architecture
  3. Bachelor of Science
  4. Bachelor of Pharmacy
  5. Pharma-D

These courses are offered by both Government assisted and private educational institutions of Karnataka. MBBS, BDS, and AYUSH courses admissions are done through NEET scores and B. Arch courses admission through NATA scores. 

Eligibility Criteria

Karnataka University conducts an entrance exam every year on behalf of KEA. It’s a state-level exam for all students to get admission in Undergraduate courses. A huge number of candidates get entries to the Top Colleges or Universities through the CET exam.

Students who prefer to complete their courses in Karnataka state can apply for this KCET exam, through KCET Online Applications. Those who apply for the Karnataka CET Exam must obey all the eligibility conditions issued by the authority or else they will be disqualified for the same. 


The Karnataka CET 2021 has conducted offline exams in pen and paper mode following the COVID protocols in August. The syllabus contained the retained and deleted topics for the entrance. The syllabus was divided into three sections of Physics, Mathematics, and Chemistry.