New Zealand T20 World Cup 2022 Squad, Team, Players List

For the T20 World Cup in 2022, the cricket authority of New Zealand has prepared and confirmed the names of 15 players to play in Australia in the month of October. The selectors of the New Zealand team have introduced some new faces to the team and they will replace the players who fought in the 2021 World Cup final. Lockie Ferguson, Michael Bracewell, and Finn Allen will take the place of Kyle Jamieson, Tode Astle, and Tim Seifert who were part of the New Zealand team in 2021 final.

Since the beginning of the T20 World Cup, the New Zealand team has never been able to lift the World Cup title in spite of their better performance but because of a lack of fortune. Their best performance came in the 2016 season where they finished in the Semi-Finals and in 2021 where they reached the final but could not win the title.

On the basis of the Kiwi’s current performance, they are standing among the favorites of winning the World Championship title according to the cricket experts. New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson has enough experience of the big matches and he knows very well how to tackle the pressure with his cricketing tactics. He has already got the experience of 77 T20I matches in which he has added more than 2000 runs in his 75 innings.

New Zealand Team Squad for T20 World Cup 2022

Under the captaincy of Kane Williamson, the Black Caps will enter the tournament for the world championship. Martin Guptill will take the charge of the opening batsman in their seventh T20 World Cup which is a record for him. No New Zealand player has been able to appear 7 consecutive times in the T20 World Cup except Martin Guptill. Devon Conway and Glenn Phillips will take the responsibility of Wicket Keeping while Trent Boult, Tim Southee, Adam Milne, and Lockie Ferguson will take care of the pace, and Ish Sodhi and Mitchell Santner will handle the spin department.

  1. Kane Williamson (c)
  2. Tim Southee
  3. Ish Sodhi
  4. Mitchell Santner
  5. Glenn Phillips
  6. Jimmy Neesham
  7. Daryl Mitchell
  8. Adam Milne
  9. Martin Guptill
  10. Lachlan Ferguson
  11. Devon Conway
  12. Mark Chapman
  13. Michael Bracewell
  14. Trent Boult
  15. Finn Allen

Despite New Zealand being at the number 5th position in the ICC T20 Team ranking currently, they have improved and grown to the next level of cricket in the shortest format. New Zealand has got Kane Williamson, Martin Guptill, and Daryl Mitchell who provide the added benefit in the batting department. On the other hand, the opening pair of Martin Guptill and Kane Williamson is considered one of the best openers in the shortest format of cricket.

Additionally, the Kiwis team is filled with the all-rounders named James Neesham, Mark Chapman, and Michael Bracewell who have the ability to take the match in any direction at any time. So, it would be very exciting for New Zealand’s fans to watch their favorites fighting in the T20 World Cup 2022 for the first ICC trophy.

AustraliaSri LankaIndia
South AfricaNew ZealandEngland
PakistanBangladeshWest Indies
T20 World Cup All Team Squads