Pakistan T20 World Cup 2022 Squad, Team, Players List

Under the Captaincy of Babar Azam, the 15 members of the Pakistan squad are all set to enter the upcoming Men’s ICC T20 World Cup 2022 in Australia. The renowned bowler Shaheen Shah Afridi has been chosen for Pakistan’s 15-man team for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 in Australia, and he is anticipated to make his injury comeback during the competition. 

Afridi lost the Asia Cup because medical staff proposed a break for some weeks due to health problems. During the first Test match against Sri Lanka in July, he received an injury on the field. The top-order duo, Babar Azam and wicket-keeper Mohammad Rizwan are expected to start batting. With wicketkeeper Mohammad Rizwan, with whom he has a productive, if a little sluggish, top-order duo, Babar is expected to start batting.

Pakistan has an abundance of options for mid-order batsmen like Asif Ali, Iftikhar Ahmed, Khushdil Shah, and Haider Ali, along with his new Twenty20 persona – Shan Masood. Despite having a lot of experience, Pakistan did not include Shoaib Malik in the team.

Pakistan Team Squad for T20 World Cup 2022

  1. Mohammad Rizwan
  2. Asif Ali
  3. Babar Azam
  4. Shan Masood
  5. Iftikhar Ahmed
  6. Mohammad Nawaz
  7. Mohammad Wasim
  8. Shaheen Afridi
  9. Naseem Shah
  10. Shadab Khan
  11. Haris Rauf
  12. Khushdil Shah
  13. Mohammad Hasnain
  14. Usman Qadir
  15. Haider Ali

The pace attack of the Pakistan team will be handled by their fast bowlers Shaheen Shah Afridi, Naseem Shah, Haris Rauf, and Mohammad Hasnain whereas Usman Qadir, Shadab, Mohammad Nawaz, and Mohammad Wasim will take care of the spin department. Fakhar Zaman, Shahnawaz Dahani, and Mohammad Haris are kept as standby players. 

In the history of T20 World Cup, Pakistan celebrated by winning the World Championship of T20 cricket in 2009 and they made it to the final in 2007, since then they have not advanced to the final. Pakistan is placed in Group 2 along with South Africa, Bangladesh, and India. 

Pakistani selectors included Babar Azam, Iftikhar Ahmed, Asif Ali, Haider Ali, Shan Masood, and Khushdil Shah as a batter whereas Shadab Khan, Mohammad Nawaz, and Mohammad Wasim will play the role of all-rounders. In the bowling department, the selected names are Shaheen Shah Afridi, Mohammad Hasnain, Usman Qadir, Haris Rauf, and Naseem Shah. In the last T20 World Cup in 2021, Pakistan began its journey tremendously by beating India, New Zealand, Afghanistan, Namibia, and Scotland in group stage games and reached the semi-finals. Pakistani fans will hope for a better performance than last year from Pakistan cricket teams and would like to see them in the final of the upcoming T20 World Cup.

AustraliaSri LankaIndia
South AfricaNew ZealandEngland
PakistanBangladeshWest Indies
T20 World Cup All Team Squads