T20 World Cup 2022 Schedule, Teams, Venue, Dates and Winners List

The ICC T20 World Cup 2022 will be the 8th edition of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup tournament. The venue for ICC T20 2022 World Cup is scheduled to Australia from October 16 to November 13.  Australia is the defending champions of the 2022 T20 World Cup. They defeated New Zealand in the 2021 T20 World Cup final. 

T20 World Cup Winners list

West Indies is the most successful team in ICC T20 World Cup campaign. They won two editions back in 2012 by defeating Sri Lanka in the final and in 2016 by beating England. India had won the maiden edition of the I.C.C. Men’s T20 World Cup in 2007. 

2009PakistanSri Lanka
2012West IndiesSri Lanka
2014Sri LankaIndia
2016West IndiesEngland
2021AustraliaNew Zealand

South Africa and New Zealand are the top teams that never won ICC Men’s T20 World Cup. They will look forward to winning the title this time.

T20 World Cup 2022 Schedule

Match NumberDateMatch DetailTime (IST)Round
116/10/2022Sri Lanka vs Namibia3:00pm1ST
216/10/2022UAE vs Netherlands7.30 pm1ST
317/10/2022West Indies vs Scotland3.30 pm1ST
417/10/2022Zimbabwe vs Ireland7.30 pm1ST
518/10/2022Namibia vs Netherlands3.30 pm1ST
618/10/2022Sri Lanka vs UAE7.30 pm 1ST
719/10/2022Scotland vs Ireland3.30 pm 1ST
819/10/2022West Indies vs Zimbabwe7.30 pm1ST 
920/10/2022Sri Lanka vs Netherlands3.30 pm1ST 
1020/10/2022Namibia vs United Arab Emirates7.30 pm1ST 
1121/10/2022West Indies vs Ireland3.30 pm 1ST 
1221/10/2022Scotland vs Zimbabwe7.30 pm1ST
1322/10/2022New Zealand vs Australia3.30 pmSuper 12
1422/10/2022England Vs Afghanistan7.30 pmSuper 12
1523/10/2022Sri Lanka vs Ireland3.30 pmSuper 12
1623/10/2022India Vs. Pakistan7.30 pmSuper 12
1724/10/2022Bangladesh Vs Netherlands7.30 pmSuper 12
1824/10/2022South Africa Vs. Zimbabwe3.30 pmSuper 12
1925/10/ 2022Australia vs Sri Lanka7.30 pmSuper 12
2026/10/2022England Vs. Ireland3.30 pmSuper 12 
2126/10/2022New Zealand vs Afghanistan7.30 pmSuper 12
2227/10/2022South Africa vs Bangladesh7.30 pmSuper 12
2327/10/2022India vs Netherlands3.30 pmSuper 12
2427/10/2022Pakistan vs Zimbabwe7.30 pmSuper 12
2528/10/2022Afghanistan vs Ireland3.30 pmSuper 12
2628/10/2022England Vs. Australia7.30 pmSuper 12
2729/10/2022New Zealand vs Sri Lanka3.30 pmSuper 12
2830/10/2022Bangladesh vs Zimbabwe7.30 pmSuper 12
2930/10/2022Pakistan vs Netherlands7.30 pm Super 12
3030/10/2022South Africa Vs. India3.30 pmSuper 12
3131/10/2022Australia vs Ireland7.30 pmSuper 12
321/11/2022Afghanistan vs Sri Lanka3.30 pmSuper 12
331/11/2022England vs New Zealand7.30 pmSuper 12
342/11/2022Zimbabwe vs Netherlands3.30 pmSuper 12
352/11/2022India vs. Bangladesh7.30 pmSuper 12
363/11/2022Pakistan vs South Africa3.30 pmSuper 12
374/11/2022New Zealand vs Ireland7.30 pmSuper 12
38 4/11/2022Australia Vs. Afghanistan3.30 pmSuper 12
395/11/2022England Vs. Sri Lanka7.30 pmSuper 12
406/11/2022South Africa vs Netherlands10.30 pmSuper 12
416/11/2022Pakistan Vs. Bangladesh14.30 pmSuper 12
426/11/2022India Vs. Zimbabwe7.30 pmSuper 12
439/11/2022Pakistan vs New Zealand7.30 pmSemi-Final 1
4410/11/2022England vs India7.30 pm Semi-Final 2
4511/11/2022England vs Pakistan7.00 pmFinal

The ICC 2022 Men’s T20 World Cup will commence on October 16, 2022. There will be group stage qualifying matches from October 16 till October 21, 2022 . Eight teams will compete against each other, out of which four teams will qualify for the Super 12 round. The Super 12 round will start on October 22, 2022. The Final of the tournament will be held on November 13, 2022, at Melbourne Cricket Stadium. 

Who Won the First T20 World Cup?

The first-ever ICC Men’s T20 World Cup was held in South Africa back in 2007. It was a very successful edition of the game of cricket. The Indian Cricket team had won the maiden edition of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup. The Indian team had defeated Pakistan in the Final of the tournament. The Indian team had shown brilliant tempo and quality cricket throughout the tournament.

Yuvraj Singh was India’s best batsman in the tournament. He had scored the fastest fifty in the tournament in just 12 balls against England. The ICC T20 World Cup 2007 also became famous for Yuvraj Singh’s six sixes in an over. Yuvraj had smashed six sixes in 1 over of Stuart Broad and registered his name in the book of cricket.

M.S. Dhoni led the Indian cricket team. India had played fearless cricket under M.S. Dhoni’s captaincy and became champion. Shahid Afridi of Pakistan won the tournament award in the 2007 T20 World Cup for his brilliant all-round performance. Matthew Hayden of Australia was the leading run-scorer (265 runs), and Umar Gul of Pakistan was the leading wicket-taker (13 wickets) in this tournament. 

T20 World Cup 2022 Team List

Total 16 teams are participating in ICC T20 World Cup 2022. Eight teams are already in the Super 12 round, while the other eight teams will have to play qualifying matches to reach at Super 12 round. Four teams will qualify for the Super 12 rounds out of 8 teams.  The teams which are already in the Super 12 round are

  1. India
  2. Australia
  3. New Zealand 
  4. England
  5. Pakistan
  6. Bangladesh
  7. South Africa
  8. Afghanistan

The other eight teams which will have to play qualifying matches first are

  1. Sri Lanka
  2. Zimbabwe
  3. Netherlands
  4. Ireland
  5. Scotland
  6. West Indies
  7. Namibia
  8. UAE

T20 World Cup 2022 Groups

These eight teams are distributed into two groups, A and B. The top 2 teams from each group will qualify for the Super 12 round. The groups are

Group 1Group 2
Sri LankaWest Indies
United Arab EmiratesZimbabwe

The Sri Lankan cricket team and West Indies team have the advantage and experience of playing in major tournaments. It should not be difficult for them to qualify for the Super 12 round.

The Super 12 teams are also distributed in two groups, A and B. The groups are

Group AGroup B
EnglandSouth Africa
New ZealandBangladesh
Sri LankaScotland

The Indian cricket team is the top contender of finishing at the top position in Group B, whereas Group A is powerful. All teams are very strong in Group A, and there will be a healthy battle in Group A compared to Group B.

Indian team will have the advantage of playing in the Australia. The Indian players are familiar with the pitch type and ground measurement as well as the weather condition.

England team is also a top contender of winning the tournament. They are currently in top 3 rank in I.C.C. Men’s T20I Team Rankings. Australia team has always been a surprise package in T20Is. They are the defending champions and will undoubtedly play like champions. Australia team is always dangerous in T20Is. The tournament is very unpredictable, and one cannot predict the winner as all the teams are capable of winning the tournament.

ICC T20 World Cup 2022 Venue

The T20 World Cup 2022 was scheduled in Australia and there are a total of 4 venues in which 45 matches are organized. The venues are

  1. Adelaide Oval
  2. Brisbane Cricket Ground (The Gabba)
  3. Kardinia Park, Geelong
  4. Bellerive Oval, Hobart
  5. Perth Stadium
  6. Melbourne Cricket Ground
  7. Sydney Cricket Ground

Live Streaming : Computer, Mobile and TV

The Indian viewers will enjoy the live telecast of the T20 World Cup on the Star Sports network. Star Sports 1, Star Sports 2, Star Sports H.D., etc. The Australian fans can enjoy the live streaming on Fox Sports Network and Channel 9. The cricket fans in the U.K. will enjoy the live action on Sky Sports. The fans from South Africa can watch the live streaming of the T20 World Cup on the Super Sports network. The Caribbean fans can watch the live stream on the ESPN network. The Pakistani fans will enjoy the live action on Ten Sports and PTV Sports. The fans from Singapore can enjoy the game on Star Cricket, Singtel, and the Star Hub network. 

AustraliaSri LankaIndia
South AfricaNew ZealandEngland
PakistanBangladeshWest Indies
T20 World Cup All Team Squads