Will India celebrate 76th or 77th Independence day in 2023?

Every year, the 15th of August is a highly grateful day for Indians, as they will celebrate Independence Day and pay tribute to all liberation warriors. India will complete the 76 years of Independence on 15th August 2023 but India will celebrate the 77th Independence day. Indian people celebrated their first Independence Day on 15th August 1947, so if we count from 1947 then this will be the 77th Independence day celebration in 2023. India will complete 76 years of Independence but celebrate the 77th Independence day in 2023. The 76 years of Independence of India is named Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav by the Indian government.

This year is the 76th anniversary of India’s independence from British colonizers, marking a lengthy journey for India that was freed from British rule after a deadly fight. Mahatma Gandhi, Kunwar Singh, Vinayak Damodar Savarkar, Bhagat Singh, Chandrashekhar Azad, Dadabhai Naoroji, Rani Lakshmi Bai, and many more are our freedom fighters who sacrificed their lives for our freedom. 

The Prime Minister of India raises the flag at the Red Fort in Delhi every year and then conveys his message to the people of India and points out all India‚Äôs achievements since 1947 and also gives a speech about the future plans for the success of India in the upcoming time. The celebration includes programs like flag-waving, lighting, speeches, singing the National Anthem, Marching by Indian soldiers, and many more. 

Independence Day is the national holiday for all government and non-government officials and departments. For the first time, the Prime Minister of India, Jawahar Lal Nehru raised the Indian Flag at Lahori Gate of the Red Fort. to celebrate the special occasion of Indian freedom and addressed the nation. Every Indian celebrates 15th August in their own ways, some people fly kites, some go to see Parade, some distribute sweets on that day. 

The British Government had a different plan for Indian freedom as they decided to liberate India on 30th June 1948 but the last Governor-General of India, C Rajagopal put pressure on Mountbatten to declare the freedom of India on 15th August 1947. British rule was started with the Battle of Plassey in 1757 when Colonial powers set up the East India Company.